Nash ’20 Named Presidential Scholar

The U.S. Department of Education has named Will Nash ’20 a Presidential Scholar, one of the nation’s highest honors for graduating high school students.

Each year 161 students are named Presidential Scholars, including one young man and one woman from each state, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 scholars in the arts and 20 scholars in career and technical education. The Commission on Presidential Scholars evaluates students based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. Since the Presidential Scholars program began in 1964, 24 St. Albans students have received this honor.
2020 Will Nash
2019 Shiva Khanna Yamamoto    
2013 Cameron Thariani
2012 Vadim Medish
2009 Edmund Downie
2006 Thomas Blemaster
2005 Cullen Oakes Macbeth
2004 Jonathan Trent Magruder     
2003 William Gaybrick
2000 Marcus Smith
1998 Alan Morse
1993 Joshua White
1991 Jonathan Atkeson
1990 Christopher Shih
1989 Kermit Roosevelt III     
1988 David Plotz
1986 Steven Johnson
1986 Brent Edwards
1985 Brian Goldberg
1985 Alexander Coulter
1975 William Poland III
1973 David Dodson
1965 Peter Van Wagenen     
1964 Frank Snowden
Located in Washington D.C.,  St. Albans School is a private, all boys day and boarding school. For more than a century, St. Albans has offered a distinctive educational experience for young men in grades 4 through 12. While our students reach exceptional academic goals and exhibit first-rate athletic and artistic achievements, as an Episcopal school we place equal emphasis upon moral and spiritual education.