Arts
Performing Arts

Theater

The goal of the Theater Department is to introduce students to the art of the theater as a means of individual and collaborative expression. Faculty members seek to inspire greater empathy and broaden each student’s perspective through the exploration of characters and concepts that expand our horizons and challenge our preconceptions.

Students who enroll in the elective courses offered are given the opportunity to explore the various aspects of theater in introductory, intermediate, and advanced classes. Whether a student has an interest in acting, production work, or design, there are academic offerings to meet their interests. In tandem, or parallel with the academic coursework, the Theater Department has an extensive co-curricular production program in which students can choose to be involved. Through these extensive offerings, the department seeks to engage with its students, developing in them both an understanding of and appreciation for the collaborative work that exists in theater.

We look forward to bringing you the following productions in the 2018-19 school year:

Upper School Theater

The Laramie Project
By Moises Kaufman and The Members of Tectonic Theater Project

Perfomances:
Friday, November 15, 8:00 pm
Saturday, November 16,  8:00 pm
Sunday, November 17, 8:00 pm

Location:
Trapier Theater

Middle School Musical

Disney Alice In Wonderland Jr.
Music and Lyrics by Sammy Fain and Bob Hilliard, Oliver Wallace and Cy Coban, Allie Wrubel and Ray Gilbert, Mack David, Al Hoffman and Jerry Livingston. Music Adapted and Arranged, and Additional Music and Lyrics by Bryan Louiselle. Book Adapted and Additional Lyrics by David Simpatico.
Based on the 1951 Disney film Alice In Wonderland and the novels The Adventrures Of Alice In Wonderland and Through The Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll.

Perfomances:
Friday, December 13, 7:00 pm
Saturday, December 14, 7:00 pm

Location:
Trapier Theater
St Albans School


Upper School Musical

Urinetown
Music and Lyrics by Mark Hollman
Book and Lyrics by Greg Kotis

Performances:
Friday, February 21, 8:00 pm
Saturday, February 22, 8:00 pm
Sunday, February 23, 2:00 pm
Friday, February 28, 8:00 pm
Saturday, February 29, 2:00 pm

Location:
Trapier Theater
St Albans School


Middle School Theater

Seedfolks
By Paul Feischman

Performances:
Friday, April 17, 7:00 pm
Saturday, April 18, 2:00 pm

Location:
Trapier Theater
St Albans School


Student-Directed One-Act Play Festival

Festival Of Student-Directed One-Act Plays

Performances:
Thursday, April 23, 7:00 pm
Friday, April 24, 7:00 pm

Location:
Lower School Assembly Room
NCS

Dance Gala

Performances:
Saturday, April 25, 7:00 pm
Sunday, April 26, 2:00 pm

Location:
Trapier Theater
St Albans School
 
Located in Washington D.C.,  St. Albans School is a private, all boys day and boarding school. For more than a century, St. Albans has offered a distinctive educational experience for young men in grades 4 through 12. While our students reach exceptional academic goals and exhibit first-rate athletic and artistic achievements, as an Episcopal school we place equal emphasis upon moral and spiritual education.