Arts
Performing Arts

Theater

The goal of the Theater Department is to introduce students to the art of the theater as a means of individual and collaborative expression. Faculty members seek to inspire greater empathy and broaden each student’s perspective through the exploration of characters and concepts that expand our horizons and challenge our preconceptions.

Students who enroll in the elective courses offered are given the opportunity to explore the various aspects of theater in introductory, intermediate, and advanced classes. Whether a student has an interest in acting, production work, or design, there are academic offerings to meet their interests. In tandem, or parallel with the academic coursework, the Theater Department has an extensive co-curricular production program in which students can choose to be involved. Through these extensive offerings, the department seeks to engage with its students, developing in them both an understanding of and appreciation for the collaborative work that exists in the theater.

We look forward to bringing you the following productions in the 2019-20 school year:

Upper School Theater: Fall Play

Performance Dates:
Friday, November 13, 8:00 pm
Saturday, November 14, 8:00 pm
Sunday, November 15, 2:00 pm

Middle School Theater:
Fall Production

Performance Dates:
Friday, December 11, 7:00 pm
Saturday, December 12,  7:00 pm

Upper School Musical

Performance Dates:
Friday, February 19, 8:00 pm
Saturday, February 20, 8:00 pm
Sunday, February 21, 2:00 pm
Friday, February 26, 8:00 pm
Saturday, February 27, 2:00 pm

Middle School Theater:
Spring Production

Performance Dates:
Friday, April 16, 7:00 pm
Saturday, April 17, 7:00 pm

Festival Of Student-Directed
One-Act Plays

Performance Dates:
Thursday, April 29, 7:00 pm
Friday, April 30, 7:00 pm

Dance Gala

Performance Dates:
Saturday, April 31, 7:00 pm
Sunday, May 1, 2:00 pm

Located in Washington D.C.,  St. Albans School is a private, all boys day and boarding school. For more than a century, St. Albans has offered a distinctive educational experience for young men in grades 4 through 12. While our students reach exceptional academic goals and exhibit first-rate athletic and artistic achievements, as an Episcopal school we place equal emphasis upon moral and spiritual education.